In Nigeria, ACGG is implemented in five sub-national zones: Imo, Kebi, Kwara, Nasarawa and River states.

ACGG sites in NigeriaThe national team is led by scientists from the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Federal University of Agriculture (FUNAAB) and National Animal Production and Research Institute (NAPRI).


The project is testing six strains in Nigeria:

  • Fulani (local)
  • FUNAAB alpha (local)
  • Koekoek
  • Kuroiler
  • Shika Brown (local)

For any question about the African Chicken Genetic Gains (ACGG) program in Nigeria, please contact: Dr. Oladeji Bamidele (Bamidele-bamideledeji [at]